You are here

Latvia Immigration Detention

Located on the eastern coast of the Baltic Sea, Latvia shares borders with four countries—Estonia, Russia, Belarus, and Lithuania. Shortly after independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, Latvia restored its pre-1922 Constitution, and since joining the European Union in 2004 the country has become a key Euro frontier state. Latvia’s immigration and asylum policies, including measures for detention and expulsion, have been developed to meet EU acquis standards. The country has received substantial financial and technical support from Nordic countries, the EU PHARE programme, and the International Organisation for Migration to strengthen its legal framework and management capacity with respect to the treatment of irregular foreign nationals.

Latvia Quick Facts

  • Immigration detainees:
    Persons expelled :
    International migrants:
    New asylum applications :